Marcia Cleveland, English Channel swimmer, author of Dover Solo, and now a 45-year-old mother of 2, recently wrote for USMS about her current training schedule:

In the swimming part of my busy, busy life, this is an “off” year for me, meaning no major marathon swims planned such as the English Channel, Catalina Channel, the Chicago Shoreline Swim or others you may check out at my website, www.DoverSolo.com. I focus on shorter races, ranging in distance from 1 to 5 miles, and maintain my fitness by swimming three to four times a week (for a total of about 15,000 yards), a little running, lots of stretching, some dryland work and taking care of and goofing off with my family. When it’s an “on” year, my weekly swimming yardage is about 30,000 to 35,000 yards plus all of the above.

The article includes some tips and tricks for open water swimming, and Cleveland’s interesting admission (for a succesful Channel swimmer):  “I have spent a great deal of time freaking out in open water…”

One response to “

  1. Thanks for posting this! I meant to write about that piece. Would anyone be interested in reading (or contributing to) book reviews on books such as “Dover Solo” and “The Man Who Swam the Amazon: 3,274 Miles on the World’s Deadliest River”?

Leave a Reply

